Author Topic: Excerpt from "Against Meat"  (Read 33526 times)

Offline Sidoh

• x86
  • MHNATY ~~~~~
    • View Profile
    • sidoh
Re: Excerpt from "Against Meat"
« Reply #75 on: October 19, 2009, 01:40:55 pm »
It's crazy to think that morality is relative?  I don't think you should be so sure about that.

Offline iago

• Leader
  • Administrator
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
« Reply #76 on: October 19, 2009, 02:04:10 pm »
It's crazy to think that morality is relative?  I don't think you should be so sure about that.
Yes, it is.

But discussing the reasoning is well beyond the scope.. plus, it's been a few years since I got my philosophy degree. I assure you, at the time, I had great reasons. :)

Offline Towelie

• pwnstar
  • x86
    • View Profile
« Reply #77 on: October 19, 2009, 03:41:07 pm »
Yes, it is.

But discussing the reasoning is well beyond the scope.. plus, it's been a few years since I got my philosophy degree. I assure you, at the time, I had great reasons. :)

How do you explain the different morals between cultures? This could be comparing our culture to another culture in any time period

Offline iago

• Leader
  • Administrator
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
« Reply #78 on: October 19, 2009, 04:07:03 pm »
Yes, it is.

How do you explain the different morals between cultures? This could be comparing our culture to another culture in any time period
Simple! [You're|They're|We're] doing it wrong. :)

I submit that there's a universal right/wrong, and that no culture necessarily follows it. Feel free to disagree :)

Offline Sidoh

• x86
  • MHNATY ~~~~~
    • View Profile
    • sidoh
« Reply #79 on: October 19, 2009, 06:41:47 pm »
Many people with PhDs in philosophy support moral relativity.

Until you demonstrate morality is objective, your argument is practically useless. :)

Offline while1

• x86
    • View Profile
« Reply #80 on: October 19, 2009, 07:54:53 pm »