Author Topic: New Rig  (Read 18805 times)

Offline rabbit

• x86
  • I speak for the entire clan (except Joe)
    • View Profile
New Rig
« on: July 03, 2010, 12:39:13 pm »
Okay, this fits into at least 3 different categories (entertainment, gaming, hardware), so I opted for here.  Someone move it if you think there's a better fit.

I'm not too experienced in building my own systems, so this is taking quite a bit of time on my part, mostly looking up comparisons and reviews for every part.

I am trying to build a new computer that will last quite a while.  My budget is $2,000.  I have a few requirements:
1. Around $1,700.  The cheaper, the better, but only if it's not a huge impact on performance.  $2,000 is the absolute max including shipping and tax, for which you can use 08090 and 19130 for calculating.
2. Dual monitors output.  Having the option of 4 would be nice, and 20 would be insane and awesome, but I really only need 2.
3. As a benchmark (and assume my internet connection can handle it), streaming StarCraft 2 at 60fps on all Ultra settings is required (and is, in fact, one of the primary goals of the computer).
4. Do not include: keyboard, mouse, monitors, sound system
5. Include: Motherboard, CPU, disc drive, HDD, RAM, video card(s), sound card (which only needs to support 2.1), Windows 7 Ultimate (yes I know it's $300....which sucks), other essentials I may have left out

I've been wading through Newegg looking at various parts, wish list builds, and other things, as well as asking around on other forums, but I know there are people here who probably know more about this stuff than most of the people elsewhere (damn random people!).

[edit]
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=15062086
Thoughts?
« Last Edit: July 03, 2010, 11:23:05 pm by rabbit »

Offline deadly7

• x86
    • View Profile
Re: New Rig
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2010, 03:04:48 pm »