Author Topic: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes  (Read 5435 times)

0 Members and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Joe

  • B&
  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10319
  • In Soviet Russia, text read you!
    • View Profile
    • Github
Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« on: April 11, 2006, 06:34:53 pm »
I play Diablo II in WINE regularly. Here's a few annoying things, and how to not make them annoying.

TCP/IP Game cannot find valid network address
Open /etc/hosts as root (sudo pico /etc/hosts) and make the first line a comment (preappend a #). This will cause you to not be able to use localhost.localdomain, localhost, or your hostname to point to your box, so it's not a great fix, but 127.0.0.* will still be a loopback address.

Pressing ALT and then clicking loot causes nothing to happen / the window to move
This is GNOME-specific, as far as I know. In Ubuntu 5.10 (Breezy Badger), follow these steps to change the "movement key".
Quote
Open menu item, System --> Preferences --> Windows
Under the section "Movement Key", select Super (or "Windows Logo") or Control.
Press "Close".

Clicking outside the D2 window causes D2 to exit the game
Still trying stuff to allow you to move outside the window. To not allow the pointer to exit the window (to prevent accidentally clicking outside), follow these instructions:
Quote
Run winelauncher
Click configure
Open the Graphics tab
Check "Allow DirectX apps to stop the mouse leaving their window"

D2 fubars my screen resolution
Run Diablo II in a window by following these instructions:
Quote
Run winelauncher
Click configure
Open the Graphics tab
Check "Emulate a virtual desktop"
Enter the resolution: 800 x 600

D2 sound is choppy or lags my computer
This may be specific to the Ubuntu 5.10 (Breezy Badger) drivers, but follow these instructions to select ALSA:
Quote
Run winelauncher
Click configure
Open the Audio tab
Uncheck all driver checkboxes, and check ALSA





Installing
WINE is really picky about mounting/unmounting CDs while they're in use, so to install D2, insert these two disks:
Diablo II Play Disk
Diablo II Install Disk

To install the expansion pack (LOD), have these two disks in your drive:
Diablo II Play Disk
Diablo II LOD Play / Install Disk

To install cinematics, have the following disks in your drive:
Diablo II Play Disk
Diablo II Cinematics Disk

Alternatively, if you don't have two CD drives, insert each disk and copy all of it's files into a temporary folder and install from there. If you get prompted to overwrite a file, say yes.





Patching
Patching through Battle.net is a real struggle. It's a lot easier to do it with these following instructions:
Code: [Select]
cd ~
wget http://ftp.blizzard.com/pub/diablo2exp/patches/PC/LODPatch_111b.exe
wine LODPatch_111b.exe
rm LODPatch_111b.exe

If you're using Diablo II Classic, use these instructions:
Code: [Select]
cd ~
wget http://ftp.blizzard.com/pub/diablo2/patches/PC/D2Patch_111b.exe
wine D2Patch_111b.exe
rm D2Patch_111b.exe
« Last Edit: April 12, 2006, 12:19:40 pm by Joe »
I'd personally do as Joe suggests

You might be right about that, Joe.


Offline Newby

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10877
  • Thrash!
    • View Profile
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2006, 08:22:43 pm »
Well, if we're going to have a forum for D2, we might as well have some info for it! =)

??

Who said anything about a forum...

I'm gonna sticky this, since it's something useful, regardless of the fact that you wrote it! =P

On second glance, it could use some commenting and cleaning up. You assume people have 2 CD-ROM drives. Tard.

Maybe someday I'll sticky this.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2006, 08:24:16 pm by Newby »
- Newby
http://www.x86labs.org

Quote
[17:32:45] * xar sets mode: -oooooooooo algorithm ban chris cipher newby stdio TehUser tnarongi|away vursed warz
[17:32:54] * xar sets mode: +o newby
[17:32:58] <xar> new rule
[17:33:02] <xar> me and newby rule all

I'd bet that you're currently bloated like a water ballon on a hot summer's day.

That analogy doesn't even make sense.  Why would a water balloon be especially bloated on a hot summer's day? For your sake, I hope there wasn't too much logic testing on your LSAT. 

Offline Joe

  • B&
  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10319
  • In Soviet Russia, text read you!
    • View Profile
    • Github
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2006, 12:13:47 pm »
Added method for people with one CD drive. As for the forums, you've missed a lot in just a few days.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2006, 12:17:30 pm by Joe »
I'd personally do as Joe suggests

You might be right about that, Joe.


Offline Sidoh

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17634
  • MHNATY ~~~~~
    • View Profile
    • sidoh
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2006, 12:27:33 pm »
sudo pico /etc/hosts

Bad Joe.  Bad!  vim > pico.

Also, nice post.

Offline Joe

  • B&
  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10319
  • In Soviet Russia, text read you!
    • View Profile
    • Github
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2006, 12:59:57 pm »
vim is insane. I haven't even figured out how to close it without using pure luck.
I'd personally do as Joe suggests

You might be right about that, Joe.


Offline Newby

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10877
  • Thrash!
    • View Profile
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2006, 02:10:37 pm »
[escape] : q !
- Newby
http://www.x86labs.org

Quote
[17:32:45] * xar sets mode: -oooooooooo algorithm ban chris cipher newby stdio TehUser tnarongi|away vursed warz
[17:32:54] * xar sets mode: +o newby
[17:32:58] <xar> new rule
[17:33:02] <xar> me and newby rule all

I'd bet that you're currently bloated like a water ballon on a hot summer's day.

That analogy doesn't even make sense.  Why would a water balloon be especially bloated on a hot summer's day? For your sake, I hope there wasn't too much logic testing on your LSAT. 

Offline iago

  • Leader
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2006, 03:01:40 pm »
The alternative is to run Dialbo II in Cedega, which ran perfectly, full-screen, on the first go. 

The only issue I've had so far is moving from Act 4 to Act 5.  It seems to crack me once in awhile.  So now I just save if I'm about to go to Act 5, and it works fine. 

Offline Joe

  • B&
  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10319
  • In Soviet Russia, text read you!
    • View Profile
    • Github
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2006, 10:47:30 pm »
Well hey, if you wanna buy me a copy of cedega, I'll gladly do that. =p

PS:
I need vmware, while you're ad it.
I'd personally do as Joe suggests

You might be right about that, Joe.


Offline MyndFyre

  • Boticulator Extraordinaire
  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4540
  • The wait is over.
    • View Profile
    • JinxBot :: the evolution in boticulation
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2006, 10:53:48 pm »
Well hey, if you wanna buy me a copy of cedega, I'll gladly do that. =p

PS:
I need vmware, while you're ad it.

Isn't VMWare free?

http://www.vmware.com/download/server/
http://www.vmware.com/products/player/
I have a programming folder, and I have nothing of value there

Running with Code has a new home!

Our species really annoys me.

Offline Sidoh

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17634
  • MHNATY ~~~~~
    • View Profile
    • sidoh
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2006, 11:05:08 pm »

Offline iago

  • Leader
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
Re: Diablo II in WINE - Game Fixes
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2006, 11:24:54 pm »
VMWare released its GSX server for free, I've heard.  I assume it supports Windows. 

Cedega gives you a free trial.  You can at least try it for a month.