Author Topic: Wireless Networking PCI Card Recommendation  (Read 5525 times)

Offline Newby

• x86
  • Thrash!
    • View Profile
Wireless Networking PCI Card Recommendation
« on: August 14, 2006, 04:41:35 pm »
I'm gonna set up a wireless A/G network when I get home, and I am gonna do WPA-PSK security on it.

Recommend me a PCI card I can use. So far I am thinking about going with this card because of the sheer number of good reviews it has and it does wireless A (lots of the cards I've seen don't, but I like A for some reason. It's a fetish I suppose!) with WPA. I just hope it works in FreeBSD! (if all else fails, I'll ndiswrapper it or something)

A review also said it could broadcast through a ceiling and such, so it would possibly eliminate the need for an extender to the network. :/

Any other suggestions? Perhaps success with a card you've used? I'm new to wireless networking, so any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks! :)
- Newby
http://www.x86labs.org

[17:32:45] * xar sets mode: -oooooooooo algorithm ban chris cipher newby stdio TehUser tnarongi|away vursed warz
[17:32:54] * xar sets mode: +o newby
[17:32:58] <xar> new rule
[17:33:02] <xar> me and newby rule all

I'd bet that you're currently bloated like a water ballon on a hot summer's day.

That analogy doesn't even make sense.  Why would a water balloon be especially bloated on a hot summer's day? For your sake, I hope there wasn't too much logic testing on your LSAT. 

Offline MyndFyre

• Boticulator Extraordinaire
  • x86
  • The wait is over.
    • View Profile
    • JinxBot :: the evolution in boticulation
Re: Wireless Networking PCI Card Recommendation
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2006, 05:03:37 pm »
I've used Linksys, 3COM, and D-Link products for wifi.  By far, with the exception of my 802.11n nightmare, Linksys is the best.