Author Topic: Pricing, cost evaluation for a site.  (Read 9254 times)

Offline CrAz3D

• View Profile
Pricing, cost evaluation for a site.
« on: June 26, 2007, 12:26:23 am »
http://www.ramcoauctionsinc.com/

I originally signed up just to do it for fun, got way into it and got a lot of help from a few of you all.  In the beginning my bud talked about paying me, now that it's pretty close to finished he wants to talk about paying me for the site as well as paying me to maintain it.

I've never done ANYTHING like this before.  I know my friend charges $1,200 or so for pages she designs (intricate design, little content).  My problem is that I, for the most part, didn't design the layout, merely modified it a fair amount.  Should I just create a new design and then charge the ridiculously high amount  (That seems stupid, I doubt I'll do that)

I'll probably end up guesstimating how many hours I put in, reduce it by a lot since there was a fair amount of "research" and then charge an hourly rate.  Ought I charge the same hourly rate to update?  He said it may need to be as frequent as daily; just whenever they have new properties to add, info to change, and things to create (I plan on still adding a few more things to the site to make it a bit more user friendly).

Since some of you HAVE done this sort of thing, what ballpark figure might I want to ask?  And because I'd feel bad otherwise, what would be a fair amount (from the main payment to me) to pay those of you who helped me out?  (Sidoh especially comes to mind as being a tremendous source of useful and helpful information).

Thanks for any suggestions y'all!
« Last Edit: June 26, 2007, 12:40:03 am by CrAz3D »

Offline Sidoh

• x86
  • MHNATY ~~~~~
    • View Profile
    • sidoh
Re: Pricing, cost evaluation for a site.
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2007, 12:42:06 am »