Well, I don't know how to do this for Windows either.. so any help with that would be appreciated too.
--
How do I get it so that my computer running Slackware 10.2 with whatever kernel it came with on the CD is part of my network and I can simply transfer files over at the speed my router lets it?
Samba.
So I basically just run Samba on Linux and I can access Windows?
Quote from: deadly7 on May 28, 2006, 03:13:45 PM
So I basically just run Samba on Linux and I can access Windows?
Yes. Make sure to put Samba on the same workgroup that your Windows Machines are running on.
Uh.. Samba doesn't have a Slackware binary. What do I download?
http://us5.samba.org/samba/ftp/Binary_Packages
You download the source and compile it...
http://us5.samba.org/samba/ftp/samba-3.0.22.tar.gz (I think)
http://slackware.it/en/pb/search.php?v=10.2&t=1&q=samba
Thanks rabbit..
But when I do install it (su root , login with password, #installpkg samba-3.0.20b-i486-1.tgz) it says that it's launching the install script but it never does it. wtf?
wget http://us5.samba.org/samba/ftp/samba-3.0.22.tar.gz
tar -xvvzf samba-3.0.22.tar.gz
cd samba-3.0.22
./configure
make
sudo make install
$su
Password:
#wget http://us5.samba.org/samba/ftp/samba-3.0.22.tar.gz
#tar -xvzf samba-3.0.22.tar.gz
#cd samba-3.0.22 && ./configure || make || make install
Consolidate the steps!
Quote from: rabbit on June 04, 2006, 07:18:35 AM
#cd samba-3.0.22 && ./configure || make || make install
Why the hell are you piping the results of configure and make? :P
# cd samsa-3.0.22; ./configure; make; make install; logout
Are you using csh or something? The only way I could see that working is if it did the step following the one before '||' if the one before '||' reported success, which sounds really neat in my mind.
I do it in bash, and it works just fine. If ./configure errors, make doesn't run, so make install doesn't run.
I didn't even know that worked. Hehe.
Quotenewby@impaler:~$ echo 1 || echo 2 || echo 3
1
newby@impaler:~$
I dunno..works fine for me :\
You meant to use && instead of ||, I think.
joe@foobar:~ $ echo 1 && echo 2 && echo 3
1
2
3
Quote from: Joe on June 05, 2006, 12:56:31 AM
You meant to use && instead of ||, I think.
joe@foobar:~ $ echo 1 && echo 2 && echo 3
1
2
3
No... for him || doesn't continue on errors.