Clan x86

Technical (Development, Security, etc.) => General Programming => Operating System Development => Topic started by: Joe on June 21, 2005, 12:35:53 AM

Title: JoeOS v2!
Post by: Joe on June 21, 2005, 12:35:53 AM
JoeOS v1 was my very first time doing any OSDev, as you all (should) know, and was my first rather large ASM project, and was very messy. I've torn it to bits and pieces, created new installation batch files, and layed down the structure for JoeOS v2 to be build upon. What I really like about this is it has a directory structure to the way I have the files saved on my computer, whereas JoeOS v1 had.. well, a pile. I've organized it somewhat like this.

./docs
 - Readme.txt
 - Terms of Use.txt
./utils
 - nasm.exe
 - partcopy.exe
./make
 - install.bat (requires ./bin/boot1.o)
 - built.bat (makes ./bin/boot1.o)
 - make.bat
./bin (These are made by ./make/build.bat)
 - boot1.o
./src
 - ./src/bootloader
 - - ./src/bootloader
 - - - main.asm

This should allow myself to stay quite sane. =)
Title: Re: JoeOS v2!
Post by: Joe on June 28, 2005, 06:39:47 AM
My Warlock hit 21 so the WoW battlegrounds ate me, but last night I got bored with all the newbs there and did some (or a lot) of work. So now it boots, initates the stack, sets ds cs fs etc to 0, changes the screen color to blue (later to be printed on) and hangs. I'll edit here with a link.

EDIT -
If you want to check out JoeOS v2 (theres a v, otherwise IBM will sue me (OS/2)), it is availble here to build from source (readme and batchfiles included) here (http://www.javaop.com/~joe/joeos2.zip)
Title: Re: JoeOS v2!
Post by: Warrior on June 28, 2005, 08:52:30 AM
I don't even know how that works, you never re-enable interrupts
Title: Re: JoeOS v2!
Post by: Joe on June 29, 2005, 10:09:58 PM
You don't know how what works?
Title: Re: JoeOS v2!
Post by: Warrior on June 29, 2005, 10:40:04 PM
How you can use any interrupts...
Title: Re: JoeOS v2!
Post by: Blaze on June 30, 2005, 12:11:32 AM
It doesn't run.. it just sits there reading from the floppy and doing nothing...
Title: Re: JoeOS v2!
Post by: Warrior on June 30, 2005, 12:14:39 AM
You wouldn't be able to tell if it did or not since he doesnt print anything to the screen.
Title: Re: JoeOS v2!
Post by: Blaze on June 30, 2005, 01:07:21 AM
You wouldn't be able to tell if it did or not since he doesnt print anything to the screen.
Oh, then it works perfectly. ::)