Clan x86

General Forums => General Discussion => Topic started by: rabbit on December 11, 2005, 12:34:08 PM

Title: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: rabbit on December 11, 2005, 12:34:08 PM
I've been told you have CAT5 cable.  Will you send me a bunch?
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Newby on December 11, 2005, 12:34:30 PM
MY 300ft CAT5. *hugs*
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Sidoh on December 11, 2005, 12:35:10 PM
How much do you need?  I might be able to box some up.  :)
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: rabbit on December 11, 2005, 12:47:29 PM
If I measured correctly, just about 50' should do, though it may be 60....anyway, is that possible?
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Sidoh on December 11, 2005, 12:51:05 PM
If I measured correctly, just about 50' should do, though it may be 60....anyway, is that possible?

Yeah, that shouldn't be a problem.  PM me with your address and stuff.

Also, do you have module assembly kits and crimpers?  This cable isn't pre-crimped.

If not, I can probably take it to school and crimp two ends on and use our certifiers to make sure they work. :)
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Newby on December 11, 2005, 12:53:03 PM
I've had to crimp an entire office together. I even got to test it. The only thing that I failed was the shielding test.
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: rabbit on December 11, 2005, 12:53:28 PM
Yeah.  No, I don't.  It'd be awesome if you could setup the connectors.
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Sidoh on December 11, 2005, 01:02:13 PM
Yeah.  No, I don't.  It'd be awesome if you could setup the connectors.

Shouldn't be a problem.  Do you want male ends on both?  Since that's how you roll and all... (just kidding :))

I've had to crimp an entire office together. I even got to test it. The only thing that I failed was the shielding test.

The shielding test?  I think that means the wire's too close to an electrical current, if memory serves.  Mine would probably fail the attenuation test because it's so long, but most certifiers are built to test CAT-5e cable to run on gig, not CAT-5.  The cisco certifications for CAT-5 are a lot more lenient.
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: rabbit on December 11, 2005, 01:05:35 PM
I'm assuming I'm getting this right: cat5 for normal ethernet cable?  I'm not much of a networking person...

And yes, male both ends.  There are a couple lesbians that need a two-ended dildo...My router just refuses to wear a strap-on.
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Sidoh on December 11, 2005, 01:09:10 PM
I'm assuming I'm getting this right: cat5 for normal ethernet cable?  I'm not much of a networking person...

Well, kind of.  CAT-5 is what I use.  It doesn't support gig (1000 MB/s) like CAT-5e and CAT-6 do, but it works fine for 100-BaseT (100 MB/s).

And yes, male both ends.  There are a couple lesbians that need a two-ended dildo...My router just refuses to wear a strap-on.

LMFAO
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Newby on December 11, 2005, 01:11:02 PM
Ahh. So apparently I need CAT-5e to take advantage of my gigabit ethernet card? :(
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: rabbit on December 11, 2005, 01:11:31 PM
I have 10/100.  Whatever?

I quit.  Just send it to me.  If it doesn't work I can go all emo with it.  That TP someone's house with it...
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Sidoh on December 11, 2005, 01:13:11 PM
Ahh. So apparently I need CAT-5e to take advantage of my gigabit ethernet card? :(

Yes.  That and a gig switch.  And the rest of the computers on your network would have to have gig too (or at least one other).

I have 10/100.  Whatever?

I quit.  Just send it to me.  If it doesn't work I can go all emo with it.  That TP someone's house with it...

Yeah, CAT-5 will work perfectly well with 10/100.  $ emo --wrists? :)
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: rabbit on December 11, 2005, 01:19:26 PM
Nah.  I've decided I hate my neighbors.
$ delinquent house=/marion/south/102
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Sidoh on December 11, 2005, 01:27:30 PM
Nah.  I've decided I hate my neighbors.
$ delinquent house=/marion/south/102

Hahaha.

e-mail me with your address and stuff since PM's don't always work: sidoh@dark-wire.net
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: rabbit on December 11, 2005, 01:32:59 PM
Check your PM's before I am forced to open some form of mail program/site.
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Sidoh on December 11, 2005, 01:33:54 PM
Check your PM's before I am forced to open some form of mail program/site.

Quote
    Hey, Sidoh, you have 24 messages, 0 are new.

 :'(
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: rabbit on December 11, 2005, 01:34:43 PM
I said "check" not "glance at the thingy up top".
Title: Re: @Sidoh (or anyone else interested)
Post by: Sidoh on December 11, 2005, 01:36:36 PM
I said "check" not "glance at the thingy up top".

This is the last thing I have:

Quote from: phc
u guys should be smart enough to know u cant stop me!!!!

Which was iago being silly.