Author Topic: Considering moving back to Linux  (Read 19261 times)

Offline rabbit

• x86
  • I speak for the entire clan (except Joe)
    • View Profile
Considering moving back to Linux
« on: January 22, 2008, 07:28:16 pm »
Right now I'm seriously considering moving back to Linux as my main OS, but I have a few requirements that I need some help on, and all of these I need:
1. to get on the internet (I've never tried wireless on Linux before)
2. to run VS2k5 for my CS classes
3. to print stuff (I've never been able to print stuff to my printer from Linux)
4. to be able to access NTFS formatted drives, and I don't have enough space to backup and reformat the stuff on them!
5. to stream media to my 360
6. to convert video formats AND be able to rip and encode video

So, my basic question is: considering the above, what distro and programs should I/do I need to use?

Offline Newby

• Thrash!
    • View Profile
Re: Considering moving back to Linux
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2008, 07:36:05 pm »
Pick your poison for the distro. If you feel weird about installing stuff (mostly problems with dependencies) go with something like Ubuntu. It's newbie-friendly and well-built. I recommend it.

But I also recommend Slackware and Gentoo. ;P

For wireless? Pray there are native drivers, or use ndiswrapper

VS 2K5? Why not VS 2K8? ;) You can try Wine out, or just use VMware with a Windows VM...

Printing? CUPS! IIRC, Apple just bought them, too.

For NTFS? NTFS-3G seems to work well now.

Streaming media to your 360? No idea. Sorry. :(

Converting video formats? Ripping and encoding videos? mencoder works wonders. Although as far as I know, the native .avi format is only watchable inside mplayer, but I've gotten the .mpg container to work with media center and its extenders... I made a batch script at some point to rip for me. And here it is:

Code: [Select]
REM rip2mpg.bat
REM Author: Newby
REM Description: Rips a DVD for you. Rips to MPEG-2 video for Media Center.