Author Topic: Why?  (Read 12168 times)

Offline deadly7

• x86
    • View Profile
Why?
« on: January 05, 2006, 10:58:02 pm »
Well, I guess that after I've been using slack for a couple months almost daily [well, whenever I use this computer I boot up slack on my other one] and I can't see why you guys are all like, in love with it.  So I guess the most basic question I can ask is: Why do you like *nix-based operating systems?
I can say that there are a couple of things that I like it about it, but I dunno.. it's hard to use.  It sure as hell isn't because of the GUI because I use command prompt for lots of things on Windoze.  What I DO like about *nix is that it's exploits are patched up pretty quickly and it's generally updated a few times a year (3-4?).  Something I don't like though is playing like, game and driver support.  Sure you can use WINE to play games, but I'm Linux-retarded and I asked someone (I think it was iago :o) if it was hard to set up and he said yeah.
[17:42:21.609] <Ergot> Kutsuju you're girlfrieds pussy must be a 403 error for you
 [17:42:25.585] <Ergot> FORBIDDEN

on IRC playing T&T++
<iago> He is unarmed
<Hitmen> he has no arms?!

on AIM with a drunk mythix:
(00:50:05) Mythix: Deadly
(00:50:11) Mythix: I'm going to fuck that red dot out of your head.
(00:50:15) Mythix: with my nine

Offline Newby

• Thrash!
    • View Profile
Re: Why?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2006, 11:05:47 pm »
Well, I guess that after I've been using slack for a couple months almost daily [well, whenever I use this computer I boot up slack on my other one] and I can't see why you guys are all like, in love with it.  So I guess the most basic question I can ask is: Why do you like *nix-based operating systems?

I can counter that question with: why do you NOT like Slackware compared to Winders?

I can say that there are a couple of things that I like it about it, but I dunno.. it's hard to use.