Author Topic: lockdown source  (Read 9056 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
lockdown source
« on: July 30, 2007, 01:47:37 am »
Based from the code that iago released.

This should work on any x86 system.  Tested on windows/linux/freebsd.

http://www.onlythechosen.com/lockdown-src.zip
 

Offline Joe

  • B&
  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10319
  • In Soviet Russia, text read you!
    • View Profile
    • Github
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2007, 07:15:59 am »
Want to tell us what this does? I thought iago's was fully functional..
I'd personally do as Joe suggests

You might be right about that, Joe.


Offline iago

  • Leader
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2007, 10:09:37 am »
Mine was fully functional, but not especially clean. I got lazy on the last few functions and did a straight asm -> C conversion, with little of the original logic clean/intact.

Rob, do you mind if I mirror that? I'd like to put a link to it in my Wiki, and I don't like linking other people's sites (since stuff sometimes moves around and breaks links).

Maybe Hdx will release his Java version, that'd be sweet :)

Offline Rob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2007, 10:39:25 am »
Rob, do you mind if I mirror that? I'd like to put a link to it in my Wiki, and I don't like linking other people's sites (since stuff sometimes moves around and breaks links).

I don't mind.  Go ahead and mirror it.

Offline Hdx

  • The Hdx!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 311
  • <3 Java/Cpp/VB/QB
    • View Profile
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2007, 08:32:26 am »
http://jbls.org/downloads/JBLS.jar
Hashing/CheckRevisonV3.java
util/PEFiles/*
It's a bit ugly in the PE section, as it got tedious after a while. I'll clean it up eventually but meh. To bad java doesn't have structs :*(
~Hdx
http://img140.exs.cx/img140/6720/hdxnew6lb.gif
09/08/05 - Clan SBs @ USEast
 [19:59:04.000] <DeadHelp> We don't like customers.
 [19:59:05.922] <DeadHelp> They're assholes
 [19:59:08.094] <DeadHelp> And they're never right.

Offline iago

  • Leader
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2007, 07:31:58 pm »
Keep in mind that a struct is a class with all public variables :P

Offline rabbit

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8092
  • I speak for the entire clan (except Joe)
    • View Profile
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2007, 09:08:07 pm »
And a complete lack of methods :P

Offline iago

  • Leader
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2007, 09:28:37 pm »
In C++, I think you can put methods in structs. Of course, C++ isn't a good example of a language. :P

I suppose you could do function pointers, which is basically a method. :)

Offline rabbit

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8092
  • I speak for the entire clan (except Joe)
    • View Profile
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2007, 10:15:31 pm »
C++ fails though.  Why would anyone use it?  Structs are structs, classes are classes.  Let's leave it at that, k?

Offline iago

  • Leader
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2007, 10:42:46 pm »
There's nothing wrong with C++, it's the language where structs and classes came from, so I think it's a good one to talk about if you want to discuss those.

It would be great to simply it to what you said, but like Hdx said, Java doesn't have structs. However, like I said (and you improved), a struct is just a class with only public member variable and no functions. As a result, you can simulate structs in Java fairly easily.

Offline Chavo

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2219
  • no u
    • View Profile
    • Chavoland
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2007, 12:04:28 am »
Simulate something? in java? How absurd!

Offline Hdx

  • The Hdx!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 311
  • <3 Java/Cpp/VB/QB
    • View Profile
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2007, 12:55:21 am »
Thats what I did. But it makes copis of each value, increasing the memory usage.
http://img140.exs.cx/img140/6720/hdxnew6lb.gif
09/08/05 - Clan SBs @ USEast
 [19:59:04.000] <DeadHelp> We don't like customers.
 [19:59:05.922] <DeadHelp> They're assholes
 [19:59:08.094] <DeadHelp> And they're never right.

Offline Joe

  • B&
  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10319
  • In Soviet Russia, text read you!
    • View Profile
    • Github
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2007, 03:36:49 pm »
Using too much memory? In java? How absurd!
I'd personally do as Joe suggests

You might be right about that, Joe.


Offline iago

  • Leader
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2007, 03:41:33 pm »
Using too much memory? In java? How absurd!
Java doesn't use a lot of memory unless you're using a graphical interface, such as Swing. But console Java doesn't use much more memory than equivalent languages.

Offline Hdx

  • The Hdx!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 311
  • <3 Java/Cpp/VB/QB
    • View Profile
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2007, 11:00:18 pm »
The very basic java app that I wrote that does ntohing but have a single thread and do some math used a whole 8k memory.
It's the fact that I'm loading ~1mb per lockdown, (I should really look and see if I can make that more efficient by useing 1 file.)
And ~20mb in other hashes..
It's pretty gay.
I'll optimize it eventually.
~Hdx
http://img140.exs.cx/img140/6720/hdxnew6lb.gif
09/08/05 - Clan SBs @ USEast
 [19:59:04.000] <DeadHelp> We don't like customers.
 [19:59:05.922] <DeadHelp> They're assholes
 [19:59:08.094] <DeadHelp> And they're never right.

Offline Joe

  • B&
  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10319
  • In Soviet Russia, text read you!
    • View Profile
    • Github
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #15 on: August 05, 2007, 11:55:39 pm »
Using too much memory? In java? How absurd!
Java doesn't use a lot of memory unless you're using a graphical interface, such as Swing. But console Java doesn't use much more memory than equivalent languages.

I forget -- is Java interpreted or JIT compiled?
I'd personally do as Joe suggests

You might be right about that, Joe.


Offline rabbit

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8092
  • I speak for the entire clan (except Joe)
    • View Profile
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #16 on: August 06, 2007, 12:19:14 am »
Interpreted :\

Offline iago

  • Leader
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #17 on: August 06, 2007, 12:28:34 am »
Both.

Offline Chavo

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2219
  • no u
    • View Profile
    • Chavoland
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #18 on: August 06, 2007, 09:50:21 pm »
Java doesn't use a lot of memory unless you're using a graphical interface, such as Swing. But console Java doesn't use much more memory than equivalent languages.
Java actually uses less memory than equivalent web languages in the web server context (at least compared to CGI and ASP.NET, I can't compare to PHP since I haven't used it significantly).  One VM with many processes is significantly more efficient than a single process for every session.

Offline Warrior

  • supreme mac daddy of trolls
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7503
  • One for a Dime two for a Quarter!
    • View Profile
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2007, 12:56:40 am »
Java doesn't use a lot of memory unless you're using a graphical interface, such as Swing. But console Java doesn't use much more memory than equivalent languages.
Java actually uses less memory than equivalent web languages in the web server context (at least compared to CGI and ASP.NET, I can't compare to PHP since I haven't used it significantly).  One VM with many processes is significantly more efficient than a single process for every session.

At least in the context of web progreamming, I'd say that for ASP .NET you trade memory consumption for functionality. In my opinion, the tools you get to work with in ASP .NET are also far superior to any offering I've seen for Java.

One must ask oneself: "do I will trolling to become a universal law?" And then when one realizes "yes, I do will it to be such," one feels completely justified.
-- from Groundwork for the Metaphysics of Trolling

Offline warz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1134
    • View Profile
    • chyea.org
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #20 on: August 08, 2007, 05:26:02 pm »
http://dan.corlan.net/bench.html

Although, I'm not sure how accurate, or current that is. I seem to remember seeing one that ranked Python fairly high on the charts. Python is also at version 2.5, and not 2.1 anymore (lol). I seem to remember Python ranking faster than Java, and PHP being the slowest of the three.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2007, 05:27:52 pm by warz »
http://www.chyea.org/ - web based markup debugger

Offline MyndFyre

  • Boticulator Extraordinaire
  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4540
  • The wait is over.
    • View Profile
    • JinxBot :: the evolution in boticulation
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2007, 10:20:11 pm »
Bad link
I have a programming folder, and I have nothing of value there

Running with Code has a new home!

Our species really annoys me.

Offline warz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1134
    • View Profile
    • chyea.org
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #22 on: August 28, 2007, 09:50:55 am »
ah, lame - it worked on the 8th, i swear! :p
http://www.chyea.org/ - web based markup debugger

Offline Chavo

  • x86
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2219
  • no u
    • View Profile
    • Chavoland
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #23 on: August 28, 2007, 01:17:13 pm »
Worked then and still works for me.

Offline iago

  • Leader
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity
Re: lockdown source
« Reply #24 on: August 28, 2007, 01:21:00 pm »
Yeah, it's working for me again (wasn't earlier). What kind of loser runs a server that isn't on 24/7? :)