Author Topic: iMac (G3 heap of crap) PPC Ubuntu  (Read 3141 times)

Offline Super_X

• I suck.
  • I suck!
    • View Profile
iMac (G3 heap of crap) PPC Ubuntu
« on: October 24, 2007, 09:33:19 pm »
Hey. A friend of mine bought an iMac from good will for $50, took it home, then phoned me to ask what was up with it. I went over and saw it was running Debian (not sure what specific ver.) I fiddled with it, only to find X wouldn't work, so I popped in my Ubuntu disc (5.10 PPC) and tried that. It installed correctally, and loads the OS fine, but X still wont load. It just goes to a black screen. What should I do? My thoughts were check the version of X, and see if I could get an older one, perhaps the video card wont handel this version.

I'm not an expert, well, I'm more so a novice, so I came to the people that know ever thing; X86 (hopefully PPC is well known here, too!)

What should I do, any tips, or tricks to find more information so I can be more specific?

Thanks, Guys. (Girls, too. If Ergot's gotten that opperation.)

Offline Newby

• Thrash!
    • View Profile
Re: iMac (G3 heap of crap) PPC Ubuntu
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2007, 09:39:47 pm »
Check what error x is giving you. xorgconf or modify xorg.conf as appropriate.
- Newby
http://www.x86labs.org

[17:32:45] * xar sets mode: -oooooooooo algorithm ban chris cipher newby stdio TehUser tnarongi|away vursed warz
[17:32:54] * xar sets mode: +o newby
[17:32:58] <xar> new rule
[17:33:02] <xar> me and newby rule all

I'd bet that you're currently bloated like a water ballon on a hot summer's day.

That analogy doesn't even make sense.  Why would a water balloon be especially bloated on a hot summer's day? For your sake, I hope there wasn't too much logic testing on your LSAT. 

Offline Ergot

• 吴立峰 ^_^ !
  • x86
  • I steal bandwidth. p_o
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2007, 10:01:45 pm »
Check what error x is giving you.
That can be done by looking at /var/log/Xorg.0.log