Author Topic: XNA-based Level Editor  (Read 6931 times)

Offline warz

• View Profile
    • chyea.org
XNA-based Level Editor
« on: May 26, 2009, 11:01:26 pm »

(update 1's shot)

I'm not quite announcing any finished products or anything, but this editor is going to be for a game I've been working on for the past several months. It's just a fairly simple 3D, isometric-style shooter, reminiscent of Sony's old "Infantry Online" game. What I've been needing to write, though, is an editor that'll just do some basic terrain creating. Initially I plan on being able to create and save heightmaps, or load existing heightmaps and render them to my viewport. I'll have this functionality implemented by the end of tomorrow, at least. I've already got code for this in my game, so that'll be relatively plug-n-go. After that, I'm not quite sure where the next logical step is but I think I'll add in some terrain picking, and work on manipulating the heightmap polygons on-screen - elevate, lower, smooth, whatever. If I get this far I'll add more goals, but I'm going to keep my sights relatively simple for now.

I'll keep updates coming as I work on this. Tomorrow should be a fun update.

Update 1: It took me a lot longer to get working how I wanted it, but I re-wrote the entire thing using a different method of getting XNA to work as a MDI child window. I'm using the Game class now which handles all the game looping, components and services for me. (I also get to use the content pipeline, now). I also threw in my free-moving camera, so now I can fully navigate around the 3D design space. The marker you see in the screenshot is just a simple origin marker placed at (0, 0, 0).

Update 2: http://forum.x86labs.org/index.php/topic,14336.msg177060.html#msg177060
« Last Edit: May 29, 2009, 02:14:58 am by warz »
http://www.chyea.org/ - web based markup debugger

Offline Warrior

• supreme mac daddy of trolls
  • One for a Dime two for a Quarter!
    • View Profile
Re: XNA-based Level Editor