Author Topic: "Sissy Boy" part 2  (Read 3025 times)

Offline iago

• Leader
  • Administrator
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity

Offline iago

• Leader
  • Administrator
  • Fnord.
    • View Profile
    • SkullSecurity

Offline CrAz3D

• View Profile
Re: "Sissy Boy" part 2
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2011, 05:31:43 pm »
Here is a comment from a psych phd friend:
Here is the article. I personally haven't had a chance to read it yet. However, I did watch the video a couple of times (haven't caught the most recent one), and as a psychologist I feel there are a few things I should clarify (in no particular order):

1. They keep talking about how it was an "experimental" treatment and not a "proven" treatment. Well, duh - how do you think we "prove" treatments are effective? (Also, there's an issue with indicating you've "proven" anything - statistics and research studies don't exactly work that way)

2. The video implies that sex, gender, and sexual orientation are the same. They are not. You can have a feminine straight guy, as masculine gay guy, etc. etc.

3. There is an implication that the methods themselves were inappropriate (e.g. only paying attention to behaviors you want from the kid, the use of poker chips as rewards/punishments). Actually, that is an acceptable, respectable method that is used in many different treatments for children. For very young children, often bad attention is better than no attention and many caregivers only pay attention when their children are misbehaving. It's basic learning principles - if you've learned an inappropriate behavior you can correct it by learning an appropriate behavior.